DISTANCE LEARNING COMMITTEE

(Academic Senate Committee – Reports to Curriculum & Instruction Council)

Purpose

The purpose of the Distance Learning Committee is to discuss, review, and evaluate distance learning modes of instruction, and recommend and promote best practices and new opportunities for distance learning and teaching that foster equitable access and student success.

Function

- 1. Evaluate and recommend approval of Distance Learning Course Amendment forms.
- 2. Recommend policies and processes pertaining to distance learning.
- 3. Evaluate and promote a variety of effective practices, standards, and professional development for distance learning that foster student equity and success.
- 4. Support sharing and collaboration among distance learning faculty by working with the Faculty Center for Learning Technology, Information Technology, Faculty Professional Development Council, and the Faculty Learning Activities Committee.
- 5. Continue to develop the Distance Learning Plan.
- 6. Coordinate with campus committees and other constituencies with regards to distance learning.
- 7. Support accreditation processes.

Membership (18)

	Position Represented	Name	Term
1.	Dean, Library and Learning Resources (Co-Chair)	Romelia Salinas	ongoing
2.	Distance Learning Coordinator (Co-Chair)	Carol Impara	2022-24
3.	Assistant Distance Learning Coordinator	Catherine McKee	
4.	Librarian	Hong Guo	ongoing
5.	Director, Distance Learning and Instructional Technology	Katie Datko	ongoing
6.	Information Technology (appointed by the Chief Technology Officer)	Michael Carr	ongoing
7.	Instructional Dean (appointed by the Vice President, Instruction)	Tamara Knott-Silva	2020-23
8.	Faculty (appointed by the Academic Senate; one	John Norvell	2020-23
9.	from Counseling, one from Noncredit, and one	Mike Hood	2020-23
10.	from ACCESS)	Michael Dowdle	2021-24
11.		Luis Echeverria-Newberry	2022-25
12.		Matthew Dawood	2020-23
13.		L.E. Foisia	2020-23
14.		Faculty Committee Member (vacant)	2022-25

15.		Faculty Committee Member	2022-25
		(vacant)	
16.	Student (appointed by the Associated Students	Vacant	2022-23
	President)		
17.	Student (appointed by the Associated Students	Vacant	2022-23
	President)		
18.	DL Coordinator Emeritus	Sandra Weatherilt	2022-24

Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CHAIR	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Academic Senate	Romelia Salinas and Carol Impara	2 nd and 4 th Tuesday Fall and Spring	Via Zoom	1:15 – 2:45 p.m.

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website:

Carol Impara ccimpara@mtsac.edu, ext. 6369

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: <u>http://www.mtsac.edu/dlc/</u> October 6, 2022