STRONG WORKFORCE ADVISORY COMMITTEE (SWAC)

(Governance Committee – Reports to President's Advisory Council)

Purpose

The Strong Workforce Advisory Committee (SWAC) is the primary advisory group for investigating and recommending options and strategies to the Instruction Team and the Academic Senate in implementing the Strong Workforce Initiative including related college work plans and budget process.

Function

- 1. Review regional labor market information for potential labor market demand and training supply shortages that could be addressed. Provide advice on actions to be considered through our existing participatory governance process for the proposal of courses and programs to meet those workforce needs, professional development, facilities, and budget.
- 2. Review local Strong Workforce applications, work plans, budgets, including labor market needs and skills gaps, for the Strong Workforce Initiative. Provide advice on actions to be considered.
- 3. Review proposed and ongoing college implementation of the Strong Workforce Initiative. Provide advice on actions to be considered.

Membership (21)

This committee will have an Administrator Co-Chair and a Faculty Co-Chair, appointed by Academic Senate, which can be any faculty member.

	Position Represented	Name	Term
1.	Associate Vice President, Instruction	Meghan Chen	ongoing
2.	Dean, School of Continuing Education	Tami Pearson	ongoing
3.	Director, Career Education	Dejah Swingle	ongoing
4.	Dean, Technology & Health	Sam Agdasi	ongoing
5.	Dean, Business	(Co-Chair) Jennifer Galbraith	ongoing
6.	Dean, Natural Sciences	Matt Judd	ongoing
7.	Dean, Arts	Mark Lowentrout	ongoing
8.	Associate Dean, Counseling	Lina Soto	ongoing
9.	Curriculum Liaison	Kristina Allende	ongoing
10.	Faculty, Career Education Credit (appointed by	Steve Burgoon	2019-22
11.	the Academic Senate)	(Co-Chair) Joshua Christ	2020-22
12.		Chaz Perea	2020-23
13.		Susan Chavez	2019-22
14.		Jonathan Hymer	2021-24
15.	Faculty, Noncredit (appointed by the Academic	L.E.Foisia	2019-22
	Senate)		
16.	Faculty, Counselor (appointed by the Academic Senate)	Mary Beth Barrios	2021-24
17.	Faculty, Librarian (appointed by the Academic Senate)	Monika Chavez	2021-22
18.	Faculty, At-Large (appointed by the Academic Senate)	Chisa Uyeki	2019-22
19.	Students (appointed by the Associated	Jun Shi	2021-22
20.	Students)	Wei Shi	2021-22
21.	Classified Career Education CSEA 262	Vacant	2020-23

Membership Meeting Times:

COMMITTEE TYPE	CO-CHAIRS	MEETING SCHEDULE	LOCATION	TIME
Governance	Jennifer Galbraith / Joshua Christ	1 st Wednesday of the Month	Via Zoom	3:00 - 4:30 p.m.

Person Responsible to Maintain Committee Website:

Mary McGee mmcgee10@mtsac.edu

College Website Link and Last Time Website Was Updated: http://www.mtsac.edu/governance/committees/c-teac/index.html Last Updated: 02/16/2021